Regular City Council Meeting City Council Chambers December 15, 2009 7:00 p.m.

Present: Mayor – Joyce Hudson Absent: City Attorney Mike Bacon

Council members Jeff Kennedy

Jim Aden
Tim Strauser
Jeff Whiting

City Administrator Bruce Clymer

City Clerk Connie L. Dalrymple

Also present: Shane Gruber, Bertha Daharsh, Lois Stanton

Mayor Hudson opened the meeting at 7:00 p.m. Advance notice and a copy of the agenda were given to the Council and members of the press. City Council meetings are conducted in accordance with the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is available for public inspection on the north wall of the Council Chambers.

Aden moved, Strauser seconded, approving the consent agenda that included:

City Council minutes - December 1 & 11

Police Report - November Treasurer's Report - November

Roll call vote: Yea - Whiting, Kennedy, Strauser, Aden. Nay - none.

Kennedy moved, Whiting seconded allowing payment of claims against the City, \$37,057.00; Public Works Division \$311,249.45; and the December 10 payroll of \$30,958.63. Nay - none.

## Open forum:

Bertha Daharsh has spoken to Dr. Dudley at the Animal Hospital and asked him and the Council to consider
an animal crematory for euthanized animals. She also suggested ads in the Times to offer animals for
adoption. Administrator Clymer reminded all that animal adoption has been put into the proposed code
update but requires animals to be neutered according to state law.

Proposed Ordinance limiting number of animals per household was removed from the agenda and not discussed.

The contract price on the Avenue I sanitary sewer project was \$246,838.15. The final project cost was \$251,148.15 including the addition of work on 11th Street and a final deduction change order. Aden moved, Strauser seconded, authorizing signature of the Certificate of Substantial Completion on the project. Roll call vote: Yea - Whiting, Kennedy, Strauser, Aden. Nay - none.

Kennedy moved, Whiting seconded, approving Application #4 for final payment of \$61,872.35 on the project. Roll call vote: Yea - Aden, Strauser, Whiting, Kennedy. Nay - none.

Strauser moved, Kennedy seconded, approving Change Order #5, a deduction of \$38,441.06, on the Avenue I sanitary sewer project. Roll call vote: Yea - Aden, Whiting, Kennedy, Strauser. Nay - none.

Aden moved, Kennedy seconded, approving Draw #5, and payment of \$972 to West Central NE Development District, on CDBG 08-HO-3074. Roll call vote: Yea - Strauser, Whiting, Kennedy, Aden. Nay - none.

Kennedy moved, Whiting seconded, approving Draw #6, and payment of \$2864 to West Central NE Development District, on CDBG 08-HO-3074. Roll call vote: Yea - Aden, Kennedy, Strauser, Whiting. Nay - none.

Kennedy moved, Whiting seconded, allowing a grant of \$28,510.11 sales tax funds to the Gothenburg State Bank for payment of interest due on the economic development loan. Roll call vote: Yea - Strauser, Aden, Whiting, Kennedy. Nay - none.

Aden moved, Strauser seconded, to recommend to the Liquor Control Commission the approval of Special Designated License for Lakeside Fun Center's bowling tournament on January 17, 2010. Roll call vote: Yea – Kennedy, Whiting, Strauser, Aden. Nay – none.

There is an application pending for a loan from Downtown Revitalization Project funds. A sub-recipient agreement with Dawson Area Development will allow repayment of that loan to go thru DAD to an account in a Gothenburg bank. Since DAD becomes the recipient of repayment funds and is a non-profit organization, the funding would lose it's attachment to federal requirements and allow easier reuse. The DAD board has approved the agreement and process. The repaid funds would still belong to Gothenburg.

Aden moved, Whiting seconded, authorizing the signature of the proposed sub-recipient agreement with Dawson Area Development. Roll call vote: Yea - Strauser, Kennedy, Whiting, Aden. Nay - none.

Aden moved, Kennedy seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 7:20 p.m. Roll call vote: Yea - Whiting, Strauser, Aden, Kennedy. Nay - none. The next regular meeting will be January 5, 2010.

Joyce Hudson, Mayor	Connie L. Dalrymple, City Clerk